Hot Search

新聞稿 Press Release
“New Generation 2010” Concert
Witness the Rise of Young Music Talents

To provide a platform for young composers and to showcase the blossoming creative talent in Hong Kong, Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK) Radio 4 and The Hong Kong Composers’ Guild joined hands every year to organise the “New Generation” concert, inviting local young composers to submit their pieces, in which selected outstanding pieces are then performed in the concert.

The “New Generation” concert has entered its twenty-second year. As this year’s submission guideline stated, instrumentation of entries was for a chamber ensemble of three to six instruments within the combination of flute, oboe, horn, viola, cello and piano. The campaign was once again well-received with many entries. Nine final pieces were chosen by the jury panel and will be performed in the “New Generation 2010” concert. Conductor Lo Hau-man will lead six musicians from the Hong Kong Kamerata in a performance of the final pieces, while the jury panel will then choose the winning compositions. Adhering to the tradition of the event, a commissioned work entitled “With how sad steps, O Moon…” by Charles Kwong Chin-wai, winner of “New Generation 2009”, will also be premiered during the concert.

The “New Generation 2010” concert will be held on 3rd June, Thursday, at 7:30pm in Studio One, RTHK. Tickets for the concert are now available for free on a “first-reserved, first served” basis. The public can download and fill in the ticket request form from the “Download Forms” page of RTHK On Internet, or simply forward their name, address, email, phone number, and the number of tickets requested (not more than 2) by fax to 2339 6427 for tickets. For ticketing enquiries, please call 2339 6425.

Final Entries Selected
Composers Work
Cheng Lee 《CUISM》
Lee Kar Tai 《Arid Branches Resound》
Leung Chi Pong 《Dark Vortex》
Lo Ting Cheung, Daniel 《Recollection》
Lun Wai Kit, Edward 《Accident》
Poon Ngo Yeung 《Reunion》
So Ka Wai 《The Sleeping Baihu》
Yip Ho Kwen, Austin 《It’s a borrowed life》
Yuen Wai Fung 《The Rain》


Commissioned Work
Composer Work
Kwong Chin Wai, Charles 《With how sad steps, O Moon…》